Australian summer of cycling ready to roll

Roger Vaughan
(Australian Associated Press)



* FedUni Australian road cycling championships

January 3-7, Ballarat, Buninyong and Cardigan, Vic

Wednesday – criteriums in Ballarat from 1.30 AEDT, including elite women (6.30pm) and elite men (8pm). Caleb Ewan starts favourite for his third-straight elite men’s title

Thursday – time trials in Buninyong from 10am, including para, and men’s under-19 and under-23

Friday – time trials in Buninyong from 10, including women’s under-19, under-23 and elite and men’s elite. Rohan Dennis and Kat Garfoot start favourites for their third-straight TT national crowns. Also para road races from 9am, Cardigan

Saturday – road races, Buninyong from 9am including under-19s and men’s under-23

Sunday- men’s and women’s elite road races from 8.50am. Garfoot will defend her title, while Richie Porte, defending champion Miles Scotson, Dennis and their new teammate Simon Gerrans will be a formidable BMC lineup against Ewan’s Mitchelton-Scott team.

* Santos Women’s Tour Down Under

January 11-14, Adelaide

* Santos Tour Down Under

January 14-21, Adelaide

* Towards Zero Race Melbourne

January 25, Albert Park

* Cadel Evans Great Ocean Rd Race

January 27 (women) and January 28 (men),

* Herald Sun Tour

January 30-February 4, Victoria

* Australian track cycling championships

February 1-5, Anna Meares Velodrome, Brisbane

* Australian cross country mountain bike championships

February 23-25, Armidale, NSW

* Australian downhill mountain bike championships

March 2-4, Bright, Vic

* BMX national championships

March 19-25, Bunbury, WA

* Commonwealth Games

April 4-15, Gold Coast

Read it on Apple news


Like This